Mindaugas Karbauskis was born on January 28, 1972 in the village of Naysyay Siauliai region of Lithuania.

He graduated from the theater department of the Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre.

In 2001 he graduated from direction department of GITIS (Pyotr Fomenko's course)

During his studies he staged ‘Mermaid’ by Pushkin and ‘Hedda Gabler’ by Ibsen.

Mindaugas was invited to work at Oleg Tabakov theatre where he staged:

‘The Long Christmas Dinner’ by T. Wilder (2001)

‘Histrionics' by T. Bernhard (2002),

‘Synchron’ by T.Huerlimann (2003)

‘As I Lay Dying’ by W. Faulkner (2004)

‘Uncle Vanya’ by Anton Chekhov (2004)

‘The Seven Who Were Hanged’ Andreev (2005),

‘The Adventures composed from Nikolai Gogol’s poem Dead Souls ‘(2006)

‘The story of Gleeful Moskva’ by A. Platonov (2007).

On the stage of the Moscow Art Theatre he staged ‘Old World Landowners’ by Gogol (2001) and ‘Copenhagen’ by M. Frayn (2003), at Pyotr Fomenko Studio Theare he put on stage play ‘Hedda Gabler’ by Ibsen (2005).

At the Russian Academic Youth Theater he worked at production of ‘A Stalemate Lasts But a moment’ by I. Meras (2010) and ‘Buddenbrooks’ by Thomas Mann (2011).

On May 20, 2011 according to the decision of the Department of Culture of Moscow Mindaugas was appointed artistic director of Mayakovsky Theater.

At Mayakovsky Theatre he staged ‘Talents and Admirers’ by A. Ostrovsky, ‘Mr. Puntila and his Man Matti’ by Brecht and ‘August: Osage County’ (with Girts Ecis).


In 2001 Mindaugas won prize of the Youth Award ‘Triumph’, in 2004 - Stanislavsky Prize (in the category ‘Director’), in 2005 - the National Theatre Award ‘Golden Mask’ (category ‘Drama / Director’ and ‘Dramatic performance small form,’ ‘As I Lay Dying’). Twice he was the winner of the ‘Crystal Turandot’ (‘As I Lay Dying’, 2004, ‘The Seven Who Were Hanged’, 2006). The play ‘The Seven Who Were Hanged’ received golden diploma of the Moscow Theatre Festival (nominated for ‘Best Performance’, 2006) and the National Theatre Award ‘Golden Mask’ (the ‘Prize of theater journalists and critics’, 2007). In 2008, he was the winner of the National Theatre Award ‘Golden Mask’ in the category ‘Drama / Director’ for ‘The story of Gleeful Moskva’. His performance ‘Buddenbrooks’ received Stanislavsky Award as ‘Event of the season’ (2011)

Laureate of the Theatre Union of Russia ‘Hit of the Season’ prize for performance ‘The Seven Who Were Hanged’ (2006) and ‘A Stalemate Lasts But a moment’(2010). He received the ‘Star of theater-goer’ prize as ‘Best Director’ for the play ‘Talents and Admirers’ (2012).


упоминание в прессе
дорогой зритель!
Мы будем очень рады, если вы подпишетесь на наши новости. Обещаем радовать только интересными поводами и не утомлять назойливыми рассылками!
В качестве комплимента дарим промокод на скидку в 10% на первую покупку билетов на нашем сайте!